Plenty of Life in Gods waiting room!

Posted: May 13, 2006 in Uncategorized

Yesterday in the House of Lords a debate was held in a chamber unofficially known as 'Gods waiting room'

Traditionally debates by the lords can be used as an opportunity for relaxing the neck muscles, letting the head fall forward in an orgy of unconsciousness.

But this occasion was an accept ion 'Gods waiting room' became a center of operations for affirmation of the significance of life, Atropos will not be robbed.

The piece of legislation being discussed was regarding the 'right to die’.

I include from 'The Times' one quote from Baroness Chapman who lives with Brittle bone disease:

"This Bill has caused me to look at my own life and how other people perceived my life. I don’t often discuss my condition because it is obvious and I don’t want to be defined by it. I have very weak bones. I believe the count of my fractures is now well over 600. About four years ago I had a neck injury that was incredibly painful. For several months I struggled trying various means of pain control. Because I am small and I don’t weigh very much this can make pain control even more problematic.

After trying several forms of medication with no success my GP phoned a local hospice and asked palliative care doctors’ advice. Within 24 hours my pain was under control and I was physically and mentally able to function.I dread to think what kind of decisions I might have made if a Bill like this had been passed previously. "

nchap06.jpg

The Times finishes with this:

'…Lord Carlile of Berriew, the QC and liberal democrat who led the campaign to dispatch the Bill. He borrowed from Edmund Burke to insist that peers should be "pillars of what is right and not weathercocks of perceived opinion".

Meanwhile Baroness Chapman confirms here right to be a tenant in Gods waiting room:

"When I was a few months old the doctors said there was nothing more they could do for me, they sent me home to die – and I'm still waiting.”

Leave a Reply

