Cat Weazle

Posted: August 4, 2006 in Intelligent Design, Theo/Philo

 catweazle.jpg

I am motivated to post on ideas that can be filed under Intelligent design .I’m motivated!What is it that drives me to think and post on this subject?Like all the other human beings that have or are presently existing I want to know why I am here and what happens when my mortal coil is reluctantly shrugged off.

I became convinced that Christianity holds the answers to the ‘why we are here’ and after death questions. So I come to the problem of our origin smelling of odour de supernatural, I admit it. I’m not unbiased when I think about which answer to ‘purchase’ and sell on to others. I don’t think there’s been anyone who approaches this answer ‘odour free’.The recent popularity of intelligent design makes it a late comer to the smorgasbord of ideas for me; regarding the FAQ of life, so it bolts onto my already existing belief. I expect there to be a correlation between what I believe and what data returns .

I also know that all data returns are subject to interpretation, almost as much as the latest film reviews.The idea of Objectivity is subjective, there is no such thing as exclusive objectivity. Because I don’t believe in a pure seem of objectivity traceable through Science I rest my answers with that perpetual best seller, the Bible. Which tells me, for instance that I am significant, that personality is modelled on Gods Character and not an emergent property, that there is intent in the universe, that nature (of which I am a part is abnormal, that History is going somewhere, that consciousness is part of Gods design and I am more than the sum of my parts etc.

I lay some of the blame for my opinions with my Church Youth leader, a cat weasel inspired bearded  dude called Steve Shaw who introduced me and the rest of our hormone harangued crew to the goatee bearded pastor and theologian  Francis Schaeffer.Dr Schaeffer showed that Christianity has answers that made it possible to be an intellectually satisfied Christian. He showed this, not only in words but in actions –never perfectly but always with Heart and courage, willing to take a risk, that attitude currently eludes me.From Francis Schaeffer came other writers and thinkers such as Os Guinness, C.S.Lewis, G.K Chesterton, A.W.Tozer, Dick Keyes, Jerram Barr’s, Ranald Macauley etc In response to the question “Which commandment is the most important of all?” in Mark 12:29-31 Jesus replies “The most important one,” answered Jesus, “is this: ‘Hear, O Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’
The second is this: ‘Love your neighbour as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than these.”  (NIV)Schaeffer showed that it was possible to know God through the intellect as well in  other ways, this deepened every other part of the Christian experience –those who peddle an anti- intellectualism( “Don’t think just feel’) within Christianity are developing there prints in Black and white only, when they could be in glorious Technicolor. The astronomer Johannes Kepler (another Cat weaselesque character –more beards) knew that doing Science was one way of knowing more about God-he said ‘”I was merely thinking God’s thoughts after him. Since we astronomers are priests of the highest God in regard to the book of nature,” wrote Kepler, “it benefits us to be thoughtful, not of the glory of our minds, but rather, above all else, of the glory of God.”Kepler could work out the path of the planets and note the variables and plug them into a mathematical formula to predict orbits-the mechanical nature of his discoveries did not mean God was not present keeping the laws and the material in existence. This attitude leads him to predict a transit of Venus in 1618.Intelligent design although not allied to any system of belief has this major distinction, it includes the possibility of design.

Leave a Reply

